QWin 2017 Deluxe: Placeholders:

Options
Unknown
Unknown Member
edited October 2018 in Investing (Windows)
I am running Quicken 2017 Deluxe on Windows 10. I received a stock dividend/stock split of 1.49333333:1. All activity was manually entered. Quicken set up a place holder showing 0 shares and showing the entire history. of the stock essentially reconciling the balance. I followed instructions and tried to stop the placeholder and nothing happened. In addition Quicken accepted subsequent dividends (Divx transactions), posted them but didn't send them to the cash account as anticipated. I have been using Quicken for about 20 years and this is the first time this feature has appeared. How do I really get rid of placeholders and get my program to work like it should?????

Comments

• mshiggins
    mshiggins SuperUser ✭✭✭✭✭
    edited August 2017
    Options
    Please see the FAQ post on this topic:

https://getsatisfaction.com/quickenco...

Quicken user since Q1999. Currently using QW2017.
    Questions? Check out the Quicken Windows FAQ list

• Unknown
    Unknown Member
    edited October 2018
    Options
    Good article but it doesn't help. I do not use automatic downloads. i manually enter all investment activity. The only exception is when updating price history, if Quicken finds a stock split mentioned it alerts me and posts it if I allow it. That was not the case here (Quicken price download never identified the split) and that approach has never resulted in a placeholder. Based on logic discussed, I should never see a placeholder since all the placeholder activity centers around downloading brokerage activity.
  • Unknown
    Unknown Member
    edited August 2017
    Options