401K contribution made for last year

Stephen R
Stephen R Member ✭✭
edited November 2018 in Investing (Windows)
Q2018 H&B - I'm looking at my Tax Schedule Report for 2018 and I believe I have an incorrect entry.  For 2017 I made the 4 quarterly payments.  4/1, 7/1, 9/1 &  1/2/18.  After I had my 2017 taxes done, I had under estimated my MAX amount allowed.  So I wrote a check to the 401K account on 3/8/18 for tax year 2017.  
My Tax Schedule Report for 2018 is now showing it as a 2018 contribution.  How do I properly fix it so it reflects as a "2017 tax year" and not a "2018 tax year" event?
I would appreciate any advice,
Steve

Comments

• Jim_Harman
    Jim_Harman SuperUser ✭✭✭✭✭
    edited November 2018
    Is your 401k provider showing the contribution as a 2017 contribution?

If so, one way to handle this might be to change the check date in Quicken to 12/31/17. You will want to add a note to explain what really happened.

I am not a tax expert, but unlike IRAs, I'm not sure you are allowed to make a cash contribution to a 401k in the new year and have it count in the previous tax year.

https://www.investopedia.com/ask/answers/06/salarydeferral401%28k%29.asp
    QWin Premier subscription
  • Stephen R
    Stephen R Member ✭✭
    edited October 2018
    Jim, I'm self employed and make all my 401K contribution from my checking.  You are allowed to contribute to the 401K, much the same as IRA accounts prior to tax filing date.  And the 401K provider did recorded it as a 2017 contribution.
    For the 2018 Tax Schedule Report, Quicken recognize my 4th quarter payment on I/2/18 as a 2017 tax year contribution.  And it does not show in the report.  Both checks entries (1/2/18 and 3/8/18) appear exactly the same in my checking account.  

I vaguely remember seeing a dialog box popping up sometime during the Jan-Mar period on some transactions asking to click on tax year 2017 or 2018.  But I can't find any reference to it.
    Thank you for your comments,
    Steve