Sales/Use Tax reports in Quicken 2017 H&B, Creating Quarterly reports for tax payments

Matt
Matt Member ✭✭
Hi, I have Windows 10, Quicken 2017 Home and Business. 

I'm a small business owner (videographer) and I'm trying to figure out how I can generate a report BY QUARTER in order to report and pay my sales tax.  My confusion is, when I book a event I take a deposit, then sometimes the bill isn't paid until following quarter and sometimes, refunds are given (the following quarter). 

So my questions is, what is the best report or way to generate a report in order to calculate the TOTAL GROSS INCOME for the previous Quarter?

Comments

• UKR
    UKR SuperUser ✭✭✭✭✭
    edited October 2018
    The Sales tax you collect in Customer Invoices is, when set up properly, recorded in an account named *Sales Tax* (yes, with asterisks in the account name).
    This account may be hidden, when you look into your Account List ... if it is, unhide it.

Someone correct me if I'm wrong, but isn't the procedure to just simply write a check on the balance of the *Sales Tax* account and mail it in? Categorize this check as a transfer from Checking to [*Sales Tax*]
    (I don't have to do this myself, so I don't know the exact procedure)
  • NotACPA
    NotACPA SuperUser ✭✭✭✭✭
    edited October 2018
    Matt,
    You've also got an accounting decision here:
    • Do you report/pay Sales Tax in the quarter in which the work was done, OR
    • Do you report/pay Sales Tax in the quarter in which the payment is received.
    For many/most transactions, that will be the same quarter ... so no sweat.

It's for those variances (that you spelled out) that you need some accounting/tax advice.

And NO ONE on this forum is qualified to do that.  Find a qualified professional to help you.

Q user since February, 1990. DOS Version 4
    Now running Quicken Windows Subscription, Business & Personal
    Retired "Certified Information Systems Auditor" & Bank Audit VP

• Matt
    Matt Member ✭✭