Quicken Shares

Unknown
Unknown Member
I have been using Quicken for 25 years, most recently Quicken 2007 for Mac. I recently updated to Quicken for Mac 2019 and migrated my old Quicken data to the new platform. After a few tries, the data in the new Quicken account was all congruent except that I have 2 funds in one of my retirement accounts that are consistently incorrect. I just spent 45 minutes on the Quicken support line and was unable to straighten this out.

The issue is the shares I bought are being adjusted by Quicken using "Quicken Shares" which divides the total shares by 100, thus reducing current value and all reinvested dividend over the years by a factor of 100.

For example, If I purchased 500 shares of fund A for $10/share= $5000. Quicken divided my shares by 100 creating Quicken shares totaling 5 shares worth $0.10/share, making my $5000 investment 50 cents. This flows through to all reinvested dividends monthly for the past 9 years and shows a hundred-fold reduction in the value on my fund on portfolio reports.

By the way, I have a number of other funds that were not adjusted in this way.

With the help of the Quicken Support guy, we saved my files then tried a number of strategies to fix this that all failed. We multiple share prices and costs by 100 to adjust what Quicken Shared did. Worked for the original purchase but not for any dividends going forward and no change to Portfolio value. 

In the end I may just go back to my Quicken 2007 but it will prevent me from upgrading to new Mac OS because of 4bit processing. I'm stuck and very disappointed that I cannot rely on accurate data since my upgrade.

Is there any way from getting Quicken to drop the conversion to Quicken Shares and just report what transactions I actually did?

Comments

• NotACPA
    NotACPA SuperUser ✭✭✭✭✭
    edited January 2019
    What funds/shares are you talking about?  Could they have had 10 for 1 splits that you hadn't previously recorded?