Transactions in an investment account do not appear in the cash account

I do things the old fashioned way and hand enter data,  When I went to reconcile January, I found several transactions that did not appear in the cash account.  I copied them, deleted them and pasted them back into the investment account.  That worked and they appeared in the cash account.

I still had a big discrepancy between todays' balance and my Quicken balance.  February transactions were missing from the cash account. I copied/deleted/pasted 4 transactions, only one appeared in the cash account.  I had to do it again for the other 3 and this time it worked.

Answers

• Jim_Harman
    Jim_Harman SuperUser ✭✭✭✭✭
    Is your investing account set up with a "Linked checking account" so that cash transactions in the investing account are recorded in a banking account?
    QWin Premier subscription
  • Hen
    Hen Member ✭✭
    I think that's the way I did it.  I've been using Quicken for more than 10 years.  My brokerage accounts have a linked cash account, which appears under the Banking heading on the left side  and the only thing that changed was I upgraded to Quicken 2019 on Jan 7th.
  • Jim_Harman
    OK, just to verify, if you go to the Account Details is "Yes" selected next to Show cash in a checking account?

Can you explain what you did when you "copied/pasted/deleted" the transactions?

With a linked checking account, you should be entering cash transactions (deposits, checks, etc.) in the checking account and  investing transactions that produce or use cash (Buy, Sell, Div, etc.) should automatically transfer the needed cash to/from the linked account.
  • Hen
    Hen Member ✭✭
    Yes it does show in checking account.  I didn't know where to find it without your help.

I go to the Investment account, I highlight the missing transaction, right click, and select copy transaction, I then delete the transaction, go to a new line and right click paste transaction. Then enter.