Independent Contractor - Materials/Supplies costs is deducted from my check.

Options
I am an Independent Contractor - One of the stores I work out of deducts the cost of any Materials/Supplies from my check before I receive it.  How do I show this in Quicken?

Best Answer

• rloe2004
    rloe2004 Member
    Answer ✓
    Options
    Never mind.  I think I got it! Thanks.

Answers

• Tom Young
    Tom Young SuperUser ✭✭✭✭✭
    Options
    Could you explain the actual "flow" of transactions here?

As an independent contractor I'd expect you'd be receiving checks from your clients and issuing checks to your suppliers.  But you're saying you are receiving some sort of "net" check from suppliers?  That seems to suggest that your clients are paying for materials and supplies directly to the supplier at "retail" and then the supplier sends you a rebate of some sort that reflects the fact that you buy at "wholesale", or something?

A fuller understanding of what's going on in the real world and maybe some explanation of how you're attempting to track this activity in Quicken would be helpful.
  • rloe2004
    rloe2004 Member
    Options
    I need to show this deduction in my expenses.  I am using the workaround for "undeposited funds"

[- Create a cash (or manual checking [*]) account, named something like "Checks to Deposit" with an Opening Balance of $0.00

- When filling out the New Customer Payment form, deposit the check to "Checks to Deposit" instead of your regular bank checking account.

- At the end of the day, tally up all checks on your deposit slip. In Quicken, in the "Checks to Deposit" account make a transfer transaction "Daily Deposits" in the amount of your deposit slip. Put the amount into the Payment column. As category choose your checking account, surrounded by [square brackets], e.g. [ABC Bank Checking]. Verify that this reduces the balance in the "Checks to Deposit"]