I am new to Quicken. Does anyone have a preferred printer they use to print checks on 8.5x11 paper?

Does anyone have a preferred printer they use to print checks on 8.5x11 paper?

Comments

• NotACPA
    NotACPA SuperUser ✭✭✭✭✭
    Are you trying to ENTIRELY print checks ... including the MICR line?  Because Q only prints on the checks that info which would otherwise be hand-written.
    AND, you need "Q Compatible Checks" to print upon ... other products won't line up appropriately with Q's anticipated layout.

Q user since February, 1990. DOS Version 4
    Now running Quicken Windows Subscription, Business & Personal
    Retired "Certified Information Systems Auditor" & Bank Audit VP

• Ps56k2
    Ps56k2 SuperUser ✭✭✭✭✭

QWin - R54.16 - Win10

• dnlb17
    dnlb17 Member ✭✭
    Forgive my ignorance on this...I am not entirely sure what I need. I am trying to help set up an office for a user who will be using Quicken to manage his business so If Quicken cannot print the MICR line I assume that will be ok. When you sat "Q Compatible checks" is that special printing paper?
  • Ps56k2
    Ps56k2 SuperUser ✭✭✭✭✭
    edited April 2019
    Normally - you order sheets of blank checks - just like a blank checkbook...

BUT - it already has pre-printed -
    - your company/personal info
    - and at the normal bottom location, for processing the checks
    --- your routing number + bank number
    ---- your account number
    ----- your pre-printed CHECK NUMBERS
    So, just like a normal paper check, all the info is pre-printed,
    and you just add the --- Payee, Date, Amount, Memo -
    When you physically print the checks from Quicken, you need to tell Quicken which check number to start printing.... by looking at the full sheet of paper checks that will be placed into the printer... either via tray or via manual slot mode.

QWin - R54.16 - Win10

• Rocket J Squirrel
    Rocket J Squirrel SuperUser ✭✭✭✭✭
    edited April 2019