Quicken won't open after I installed R19.44 on Mac (Win7 + Parallels)

I have been using Quicken for Windows for over 10 years on an iMac using Parallels 14 and Windows 7. I downloaded the R19.44 update last week and Quicken stopped opening. It will try to open with normal opening data and then crashes. I have uninstalled Quicken using UIClean and re-installed. I have also upgraded my Win 7 OS to Win 10. No effect. Spent two hours on the phone with support who could not find the problem. When Windows event log is viewed, shows as a .NET Runtime error 1026. I need this program. Please help.

Best Answer

• rleesimpson
    rleesimpson Member
    Answer ✓
    With Quicken's tech support, I was able to reach a temporary solution to the problem. After downloading some updates for Windows 10 and re-allocating some resources to my Windows VM, we were able to re-install Quicken and allow it to update to R19.44. It opened a couple of times and worked fine. Then on the 3rd or 4th opening it crashed again and again. We then re-installed Quicken with internet disconnected - this results in R14.23 being installed, which for my purposes is fully functional and according Quicken not that dated. Quicken acknowledged that this experience revealed some additional issues with R19.44 which he thought they would correct in a soon-to-be-released further patch - either a R19.45 or R19.44.1
    Thanks for everyone's help.

Answers

• GeoffG
    GeoffG SuperUser ✭✭✭✭✭
    edited June 2019
    Quicken Inc. has not communicated well that 19.44 has a significant code change in that it removes .NET dependence. Unfortunately, this has had some downstream negative affects.
    I would suggest reverting back to 18.16 and wait until this code change gets sorted. You can find 18.16 link here.
  • rleesimpson
    rleesimpson Member