When to quit using an existing FILE and start a new FILE

I have been using Quicken since 1994 in the same file which current file size is 62.8 MB.
I have new bank accounts I need to add to Quicken. Would it be okay to continue to use the existing file? I'd like to still be able to use the same categories as before but I don't see a way to export categories to import into another file. Suggestions?

Comments

• Ps56k2
    Ps56k2 SuperUser ✭✭✭✭✭
    My QDF file is about 122MB -
    you can see the internal stats....  -- Help --> Ctrl + About Quicken

QWin - R54.16 - Win10

• sosuzguy
    sosuzguy Member ✭✭
    edited October 2019
    Thank you for your comment. This is what mine is showing:
  • markus1957
    markus1957 SuperUser, Windows Beta Beta
    Your existing file should be fine.  One thing noticed from your screen shot is that you have a running application that is hogging a significant amount of system memory.  If you are noticing a performance issue, the memory deficiency may be the cause.
  • sosuzguy
    sosuzguy Member ✭✭
    > @markus1957 said:
    > Your existing file should be fine.  One thing noticed from your screen shot is that you have a running application that is hogging a significant amount of system memory.  If you are noticing a performance issue, the memory deficiency may be the cause.

Thank you, how can I find out what is hotting that amount of system memory?
  • UKR
    UKR SuperUser ✭✭✭✭✭
    Is your current Quicken data file clean and up-to-date or has it deteriorated and become a total mess?
    IMHO, if your current file is good and clean, you can easily add new bank accounts to your 19 existing ones. You're not anywhere near any limitations.
    OTOH, if you do want to start over with a new file and carry forward all your 400 categories, you can do this:
    Using the File Menu in Quicken select File Operations / Copy