Quicken for the UK

Hi

I have been using Quicken in various forms for many many years. I understand that you have not supported the UK market for a number of years and I have always managed to get Quicken 2004 to work on my old laptop using windows 7.

However, this old laptop is now in need of replacing and of course the 2004 version of Quicken will not work with windows 10.

Do you have a solution for the many thousands of UK customers in the same situation? Is there a version I could purchase that would enable me to access my quicken files as I cannot risk losing them.

Would the US version work in the UK?

Thanks

Best Answer

Answers

• Dan Glynhampton
    Dan Glynhampton Member ✭✭✭✭
    I'm in the UK too and am using the latest US version, so yes, it's possible to do so.  You'll be subject to the same restrictions of manual entry that you'll have been using with your 2004 version as no UK bank downloads are supported.

You may have problems converting your old UK database to a more recent version.  I managed to convert an old Q2000UK database, but others have reported that newer UK versions fail to convert.  Here are the steps I suggest you try:

1.  Make sure you have a secure backup copy of your existing Quicken database files in a safe place.  Do the following steps with copies of that backup so that if something goes horribly wrong you don't lose the data.

2. Go to this page on the Quicken website and download the free copy of the US version of Q2004 found under the "Converting a data file from Quicken 98 - 2003" section. Install it on Windows 10 and see if it will open your data file.