How often to Convert old files [edited]

Robyn
Robyn Member ✭✭
I've been using Quicken for over 20 years. At the start of each year, I create a copy for the new year. So I have a lot of files.

I used to buy upgrades only every 3 years when it was required in order to maintain the download function. After installing an upgrade, I went through the tedious procedure of opening every file, one by one, in the new version, so that the program could convert it. That way, in the rare cases when I want to access one of the old files, it's compatible with current Quicken and can be opened.

Now that there are no "yearly" versions of the program, but constant upgrades, how should I maintain this procedure? I really don't want to do it every time the program informs me there's an upgrade. Do you think it would be sufficient to convert my files once a year, say at beginning of the year?

Thanks for any help.

Comments

• Robyn
    Robyn Member ✭✭
    Note on my title to above question. I shouldn't have said How often to BACK UP old files. It should be how often to CONVERT them.
  • thecreator
    thecreator SuperUser ✭✭✭✭✭
    Hi @Robyn ,

Quicken 2016, Quicken 2017 and Quicken Subscription are using the same Quicken Data File format. There is no conversion of the Data File, itself.

However, you should be doing Maintenance on the Hard Drive, at least, once a week and after the system crashes. File System Errors can corrupt the Data Files.

I use Glary Utilities from:  https://www.glarysoft.com/

thecreator - User of Quicken Subscription R53.16 USA

Windows 10 Pro 32-Bit Build 19045.3693
    Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit Build 19045.3754

• splasher
    splasher SuperUser ✭✭✭✭✭
    My compliments on doing the "conversion/upgrade" of your historical data files over the years, most don't think about it until it is too late and they can no longer read a file from several years ago and "desperately" need it.