Quicken file is 1.5 GB from 2010

I have been using Quicken since about 2010. I have added receipt images, documents, scanned images, etc to many transactions for ease of recalling receipts should I need them. In doing so, it appears my file is about 1.5 GB. My quicken seems sluggish at times. I am wondering if anyone else has issues with such large files? Is there a way to compress this file? I hate to do a date split copy. I attempted to see just 1-1-2017 till today, and that is still .5GB. I like the ability to recall any and all transactions from the beginning with ease. But fear that this benefit may not be worth it if Quicken cant work well with such a large file. Thoughts?

Comments

• Snowman
    Snowman Member ✭✭✭✭
    I believe it is all of the added receipt images.  I have found it more expedient and better to scan all receipts and statements as pdf files.  Almost all credit cards and banks etc. provide a way to download these as pdf files.  I then have a file structure st up to save the pdf files.

This accomplishes two things.  One, if you need to fine a receipt you do not have to open Quicken and then find the item.  Two, if a Quicken update "breaks" this feature you will not have to go without until when or if they ever fix it.

My Quicken 2020 R23.18 file is 631Mb and was started in 2005.  You may try going to File > Save as Copy and save you file to another name.  That may compact the file somewhat.  When Quicken seems "sluggish" I would open task manager and see if there is another program running that is slowing things down.

If you computer only has 8Gb of RAM and it is running Windows 10 that can be an issue as well.  Ideally the windows Virtual Memory file should not be on the same drive as Windows.  If you computer has a mechanical hard drive you should look into a Solid State Drive.  I have been using 1 and 2Tb SSD drives on 10+ computers for the past two years and that can speed things up quite a bit.