Questions about upgrading from 2017

Options

Best Answer

Answers

• BJB
    BJB Member ✭✭✭
    Options
    I have put it off but need to also upgrade from Quicken 2017 over the next few weeks so I do not lose my download capability and electronic bill paying. I have a subscription CD. I use electronic payments with a bank (so it appears under "online" and shows payees, transactions, emails and I can enter a transaction with "send online payment". I assume this is Quicken Billpay???? I have had it forever. And also utilize multiple downloads from cards, investments, etc.

I had another thread on upgrading from Quicken 2017 to the subscription model from a while ago. The other thread provided very detailed procedures regarding upgrading.

I have a functioning Quicken ID.

My understanding is that I insert the CD, input my Quicken ID account info and code from my subscription CD, and then put away the CD and download the software from my quicken account and install....

Then there are detailed instruction to do a total uninstall and wipe of the old version, however I have read others just installed on top of their current version of Quicken which is what I have always done. Knowledgeable user recommended the uninstall method. Of course data backups are a must. Losing my preferences with an uninstall scares me.

I always like to know about problems I can expect to experience in advance. Since many have done this, what issues are we talking about here? I have had some in the past, but as noted above, given the support issues during this time, I am concerned about upgrading.

Any input from users that have gone through this or "known issues" would be appreciated. Will it carryover my online links to my banks, etc? Losing my electronic bill paying is not an option and losing the downloads for an extended period also is not.

Thanks,
    BJB
  • BJB
    BJB Member ✭✭✭
    Options