How do I record a dividend/dividend reinvestment? (Q Mac)

Marcrest
Marcrest Member ✭✭
I am new to Quicken subscription. I have a brokerage account which all my transactions flow through. I have accounts set-up for each security/stock that I own.

When I view my account activity through my bank, (RBC), I see a cash dividend entry and a dividend reinvestment entry. When I enter the cash dividend into my brokerage account, I record it as "Dividend Income" – pretty straight forward. When I enter the "Reinvest Dividend" into my brokerage account, it doesn't create a debit to the brokerage account nor does it add shares to the security account. And if I enter a "Buy" instead, it debits the brokerage account, but it neglects to add shares to the security account.

Alternately, if I go to the stock account and enter "Dividend Income" it adds cash to the account, but doesn't offer an option to credit my brokerage account. And when I enter the "Reinvest Dividend", it adds shares, but doesn't provide the option to debit my brokerage account.

Am I doing something incorrectly? Is this not the appropriate way to record this?

signed,

baffled and confused

Comments

• Boatnmaniac
    Boatnmaniac SuperUser ✭✭✭✭✭
    "Reinvest Dividend" is a single transaction in which the dividend paid by the security is used by the security to buy more of that security.  No cash is credited to or debited from the cash balance of the account...and you won't be given the option to do that.  Just enter the security, the $ amount of the dividend and the number of shares that were purchased from the reinvestment.