Best way to start over a 401k account within a file?

While I’ve been using Quicken since 1996, I’ve been hanging out in the familiar waters of Q2007 and have been on Q2020 only four days.

Everything has updated perfectly with the exception of my 401k account. It’s been a hot mess since the beginning because the statements were so furiously vague, I had to move shares in and out to match the statement shares. (And as you all know Q2007 couldn’t download for a dog’s age.)

Now that I've happily had Q2020 download direct from the financial institution, the balance is double what it should be. I checked and 401k statements are available to download all the way back to the beginning of my opening an account in May 2011.

Is there a way to keep and rename the out of balance 401k (for reference), start a new 401k with the right name and have Q2020 download the statements again, but this time all the way back from May 2011 (which require special settings on the financial institution’s website)? Then once I’m up and running for a statement or two, how do I delete that out of balance 401k?

Best Answers

• John_in_NC
    John_in_NC SuperUser, Mac Beta Beta
    Answer ✓
    Hi, Susan:

Yes, you can create a new 401k account which you can later rename to whatever you want. (You can rename any account in Quicken by right (or control) clicking it's name in the sidebar) 

You can also delete, or better yet, Hide (via Hide and Show accounts) your older problematic account so it doesn't affect your current workflow, but is still available (unhide)down the road should you need to examine it. Just make sure you deactivate your older account (if you have) before you Hide it. Ask if you need help with that, but you do that in that Account's Settings:Troubleshooting.