Updated to 27.1.27.24 - many things broken

I just went through the standard automatic update and when finished updating to version 27.1.27.24, several things stopped working.
1) Backup does nothing. Pick "backup and restore" then "Backup Quicken File". Result: nothing happens.
2) Attempt Validate and Repair while file is open in Quicken. Result: Error message - unable to close file.

By the way, I've been using quicken for many years and have had no issues. It was working fine prior to this update. What gives?

Best Answers

• Unknown
    Unknown Member
    Answer ✓
    Just got off the phone with Quicken support. The issue was that the quicken folder and all files in it were read-only. This was causing all the weird behavior. After moving the folder and making the files inside read/write, all is fixed.
  • Unknown
    Unknown Member
    Answer ✓
    Another note on the resolution of my problem: After a recent windows 10 update, the updater showed me an option for something called "Controlled Folder Access". This protects files, folders, and memory areas on your device from unauthorized changes by unfriendly applications (including ransomware). Seemed like a good idea, so I said yes, turn it on. Unfortunately, Quicken is not in the list of "good" applications, and therefore, windows prevents Quicken from writing to the Quicken data file. The toggle for this is found in Windows Security - Virus and Threat Protection - Manage Ransomware Protection.

Answers

• Dennis@1
    Dennis@1 Member ✭✭✭✭
    I would try running the Mondo Patch. You can download it here.
  • Unknown
    Unknown Member
    Answer ✓
    Just got off the phone with Quicken support. The issue was that the quicken folder and all files in it were read-only. This was causing all the weird behavior. After moving the folder and making the files inside read/write, all is fixed.
  • thecreator
    thecreator SuperUser ✭✭✭✭✭
    Hi @"billmowat ,