I Screwed Myself BUT GOOD!

Oh gosh, I may have really done it to myself. Hope that you geniuses can help. I've been running Quicken For Mac 2007 for years and years. Never upgraded the OS beyond El Capitan for other reasons. Today, decided that I would move into the 21st century and get myself a new Mini running Catalina OS. Fine, downloaded the $34.99 version of Quicken for Mac because I knew that this was necessary to run on the newer os BUT wanted to still use my old Mini/El Capitan until the new system was here and set up. I opened and installed the downloaded version of Quicken and it asked about using my existing Quicken for Mac 2007 files as a starting point. Foolishly, I agreed. NOW, I find that all of my my files from 2018 thru this year are gone....as in they don't exist. I checked BOTH of my external SSDs and the same thing is there..........and also my MacBook Pro also running El Capitan. How badly did I screw myself up? Can I ever get the pre new Quicken version back again or transferred into the new version so I can pick up where I left off????? Is suicide an appropriate path for me. We run a small home business and it's just one bank act that we have used in Quicken 2007 for taxes and the like BUT to redo the file means 2 years of deposits, etc,. that I'd have to go back to.......Yes, in the scheme of things, it's nothing BUT it sure made me feel like a jerk. Why did I have to upgrade QUICKEN TODAY??? Makes no sense at all........help an old man PLEASE!

Thanks to you all,

Steve

Answers

• Steven Reiss
    Steven Reiss Member ✭✭✭
    I should add that the old interface of Quicken 2007 is gone and replaced by something new and scary. All I wanted to do was to be able to run Quicken manually, no imports from my bank accounts, just one simple-assed act that I could continue to use for our business.........my advice, don't get old. These things seem like much more than they may be.....
  • jacobs
    jacobs SuperUser, Mac Beta Beta