manual mortgage - double payment

I'm very new to Quicken - been using it for about two months. I have used mint for years and years so sometimes I really struggle because of the similarities/differences.

I created a manual mortgage for my house, for some reason I don't quite remember now -- possibly tracking PITI components instead of just the "bill"/mortgage payments. At first I had the mortgage bank account as a loan, but deleted it last month for some reason (?). It made sense at the time after googling around. Now, though, my mortgage payment is not reconciling from my checking account and I honestly don't have any idea what to do.

So, this month I entered an "Expense Transaction" from the Bills & Income tab under my Mortgage MANUAL loan. The Payee was Mortgage MANUAL, Quicken autofilled the split (interest, principal, etc), and I chose my checking account as the "Account to use." However, Quicken also downloaded the actual transfer from my checking account that went to the mortgage-holding bank. Now I have two $2500 payments on July 2, one that I entered manually that's split among the PITI components, and one $2500 debit to the bank = $5000 in mortgage payments, instead of just $2500.

So, how should I track my mortgage payments best? Do I continue to use the manual mortgage, and if so, how? Or should I add the mortgage bank account and reconcile the mortgage loan to the checking account payments?

Best Answers

• Tom Young
    Tom Young SuperUser ✭✭✭✭✭
    edited July 2020 Answer ✓
    "Do you happen to know if I can auto-schedule the manual payment?"
    There are ways to set up payments directly through Quicken and, outside of Quicken, ways you might establish "auto pay" either through your checking account with Bank ABC (a "push" payment) or through your loan account with Bank XYZ (a "pull" payment). 
    As a first step you could edit your bank Account in Quicken, click the Online Services tab and if you see this at the bottom: