Installing an older copy of Quicken Deluxe on a different computer, for a different user.

Is it possible to install a copy of an older version (say 2011) on a different computer, for a different user? I have all my original CD's from several versions. I've been using 2011- since 2011 - over several versions of Windows including currently on Windows 10, and it works great - as a stand-alone program. I do NOT use ANY online banking, bill-pay, stock quotes, etc, etc or any other online feature.
My father in law is trying to achieve the same thing, without buying a new version and signing up for a subscription. I see lots of old copies of Quicken for sale on eBay, etc - but it's impossible to determine if they have been previously installed/registered, and if so, does that render the software unusable? It seems there must be a Product ID and/or registration code involved in the installation, to preclude re-selling or pirating of the software.
Please advise if there is a way to achieve this and thanks!

Best Answers

Answers

• grantj
    grantj Member ✭✭
    Volvogirl - You rock! Thanks for the super-quick response, and the good news!
    Just to confirm:
    I can upgrade my existing Quicken 2011 Deluxe, to 2013, simply by going to the link you provided.
    As far as my relative: Do I need to send him my Quicken 2011 CD-ROM, and have him install that first - and THEN, follow the link to upgrade to 2013? Or can I just provide him that link and advise him to download/install directly from there?
    Thanks again for your help!
  • volvogirl
    volvogirl SuperUser ✭✭✭✭✭
    He can just download 2013 directly.  Each year is a full new install not just an upgrade.

I'm staying on Quicken 2013 Premier for Windows.

• grantj
    grantj Member ✭✭