How do you make a loan payment in 2020 for the Mac?

fleonhardt
fleonhardt Member
Just upgraded from 2007 to 2020 for the Mac last week. The conversion went well. Today I went to make a loan payment. All of the loan information was there. I even added in the property taxes and extra principal. But then I went to click on a "make payment" button (or "use" in 2007) and there is none. A quick search suggested that there should be a Make Loan Payment button. But now I'm worried that that button is only in Windows. Then I found a post here from a person who also upgraded from 2007 for the Mac. She writes: "A feature I've been using for 25 years is completely missing in new Quicken—both Mac and Windows." Can this be true? Really? [removed-inaccurate] Making a loan payment is a very basic and necessary feature, one that us 2007 users have enjoyed for decades. Please tell me that this is not true. What a huge step backwards. One more thing to not like about 2020. Why ask me to categorize my property tax charge in the loan details area if that information is not going to be used anywhere? Baffling! And I did call tech support and they were equally baffled. So, how do you make a loan payment in Quicken 2020 for the Mac? And to add insult to injury, I was told by tech support that there is no online manual for 2020. Without my 2007 background I would be completely lost. I'd hate to be a newbie.
Tagged:

Comments

• J_Mike
    J_Mike SuperUser ✭✭✭✭✭
    You need to create a Bill Reminder for your loan payment.

Open the loan account in the register.
    At super left, select Edit won and Payment Terms.
    A dialog opens to Loan Details view.
    Select the Bill Reminder view (top center of dialog).
    Select desired Reminder Type - (suggest Detailed).
    Select Save.

You should now see a scheduled reminder under the Bills & Income tab.

Post back if you have further questions.
    QWin & QMac (Deluxe) Subscription
    Quicken user since 1991