How to "undo" reconciliation

I'm new to Quicken. My bank register is a mess. Would have been easier if I had manually entered every transaction until I get a grip on how to use Quicken. That said, I would like to undo all reconciled transactions so I can go one month at a time and work to balance this with what my bank statements reflect. Is this possible? I will enter an opening balance as of December 31 2019 and then begin entering transactions that began January 1 2020. I'll reconcile one month at a time. Thank you

Best Answers

• Tom Young
    Tom Young SuperUser ✭✭✭✭✭
    edited December 2020 Answer ✓
    The basic process of undoing reconciliations is to change the R in the "Clr" column to a c or a blank.
    You can do this one at a time, but you can also do it using the typical Windows convention of selecting the first item to be changed in the register, scrolling down and, while holding the Shift key, selecting another item.  All items in between will also be selected.  The right-click the mouse and click on "Reconcile status."
  • Rocket J Squirrel
    Rocket J Squirrel SuperUser ✭✭✭✭✭
    Answer ✓
    You have the procedure slightly wrong.
    1. Select the first transaction normally with a left click.
    2. Scroll to the last transaction.
    3. Now hold Shift while left-clicking the last transaction. All from first to last should now be selected.
    4. Release Shift and proceed with whatever action you want to perform on the selected transactions.

Quicken user since version 2 for DOS, now using QWin Biz & Personal Subscription (US) on Win10 Pro.

Answers

• Tom Young
    Tom Young SuperUser ✭✭✭✭✭
    edited December 2020 Answer ✓
    The basic process of undoing reconciliations is to change the R in the "Clr" column to a c or a blank.