Why is the amount in my spending reports displayed with an nbsp?

Hi to all,
I am new to Quicken, running Quicken Starter Version 5.18.2 on macOS 10.15.7.
Why is the amount in my spending reports displayed with an nbsp?
To be precise, the amount is displayed as [XXX (currency)] " & nbsp ; " [amount]
(no spaces before and after nbsp)
Any ideas why, and how to correct?
Thank you

Answers

• UKR
    UKR SuperUser ✭✭✭✭✭
    An old discussion explained the cause and showed how to resolve it:
    There is a known bug where if the currency symbol follows the amount, the HTML code for non-breaking space (&nbsp) gets displayed instead of the space character. This occurs when the chosen macOS system language puts the currency symbol after the amount (eg. French).
    For now, you can change your language setting in macOS System Preferences > Language & Region to one that puts the currency symbol in front of the amount (eg. English). Unfortunately, macOS does not provide a way to force the currency symbol in front of the amount for languages that don't normally display this way. Understand that this will affect language display throughout your Mac. You may still use Euro as your main currency even with your Mac language set to English or any other language.
    We hope that Quicken will get this fixed eventually, but it is probably low priority since it is a display-only issue that affects relatively few users. Nonetheless, it would be good for you to report it using menu Help > Report a Problem in Quicken. (Your post here will not likely be seen by the developer team.) If they get enough reports, maybe they'll get it fixed.

Does that work for you?

• Thank you for finding this for me. In my case, the currency symbol PRECEDES the amount, but I will assume given the above that this bug is not serious to the point of corrupting data or any such thing.
  • UKR
    UKR SuperUser ✭✭✭✭✭