Exceeding maximum number of datasets and client side error 404

BobN
BobN Member
I've been using quicken for 20 years. Now whenever I start quicken I get the "Exceeded the maximum number of datasets message." 5 times I have called Quicken Support. Everytime I call they reset something in my account and the problem goes away. The rep then tells me the problem is now fixed. The next time I open quicken the message is back. Plus I'm getting the "Quicken encountered a client side error while syncing your data HTTP 404" and cannot sync with my mobile devices. These two issues may be related.

I use the quicken subscription service, Year 2020, Version R30.14, Build 27.1.30.14. I see others have had the problem but it's not been resolved. The support representative has involve the tier 2 staff but they haven't been able to permanently fix it. I've followed all the steps, logout/login, uninstall/reinstall, create test file, etc.

Any help would be greatly appreciated. If any of the moderators read this and can get me in touch with Quicken's best problem solvers, please do so.
Stay safe everyone.

Best Answer

• BobN
    BobN Member
    Answer ✓
    I finally have it working. Over the past week I’ve been on the phone with quicken tech support for at least 10 hours. I’m retired so I had the time to spend. Actually even though getting it working took a long time, I was impressed by the persistence of the tech support staff. Unlike some other organizations that try and get you off the phone as quickly as possible, these folks stayed with it.

The breakthrough came when I received a call from a member of tier 2 tech support inquiring if my problem was resolved. When I told him it wasn’t, he spent an hour with me but without success. We set up a time for him to call me the next day which he did.