Opening Old Data Files with Current Program (Q Mac)

AZYudkowsky
AZYudkowsky Member
I have been using Quicken for Mac since 1991. I have a number of old data files that were created with previous versions of Quicken. Can I open those files with the current version of Quicken?

Answers

• Quicken Francisco
    Quicken Francisco Alumni ✭✭✭✭

Hello @AZYudkowsky

Thank you for reaching out on the community and telling us about your issue. You can convert to the newest version but there are some limitation when it comes to converting different times of files as anything prior to 2007 is not supported for conversion. So in short yes you're able to try but there's no support for it. I'll leave a links down below that goes through the process as well.

https://www.quicken.com/support/converting-your-data-quicken-mac

https://www.quicken.com/support/how-and-when-use-intermediate-version-convert-older-versions-quicken

Please let us know if this helps resolve the issue for you.

Thanks,

Quicken Francisco

• jacobs
    jacobs SuperUser, Mac Beta Beta
    Do you know how old these data files are, or what version of Quicken they were last used with?

What version of macOS do you have on your computer(s)?

Do you have any old version(s) of Quicken Mac on your computer(s)?

Sorry for all the questions, but there are a lot of different permutations for dealing with old Mac data files, so these answers might narrow the things to try. The link from Francisco is all Quicken officially states is possible, but there are some additional wrinkles which may lead to success depending on the answers.
    Quicken Mac Subscription • Quicken user since 1993