Downloaded QIF data from bank to Excel then Quicken imported date as 1920 rather than 2020

Hello all. I'm pretty new to Quicken. We downloaded 2020 information from our bank onto an Excel spreadsheet to upload it to our Quicken ledger. For reasons unknown, year in our Quicken register is seen as 1920 rather than 2020. Any ideas as to how this might have happened? Any quick fix recommendations? Should we blow away all the 1920 data and reupload the report from our bank? Thanks for any ideas you may have.

Answers

• FYI we downloaded the data from our bank in QIF format.
  • GeoffG
    GeoffG SuperUser ✭✭✭✭✭
    Is this the only option the bank offers? This is not the best way to load current Quicken data.
  • Hi GeoffG. What way do you recommend? Thank you.
  • GeoffG
    GeoffG SuperUser ✭✭✭✭✭
    This depends on the bank's offering. The best method is using Direct Connect. This article explains the various options that Quicken uses.

Connection Types in Quicken
  • Chris_QPW
    Chris_QPW Member ✭✭✭✭
    For what's it worth whatever generated the QIF file used a 2 digit year format, without Quicken's special syntax for years after the year 2000.

Dates need to be either:
    3/29/2021
    OR
    3/29'21
    Signature:
    This is my website: http://www.quicknperlwiz.com/
  • Ps56k2
    Ps56k2 SuperUser ✭✭✭✭✭
    edited March 2021
    TownieManufacturing said:  We downloaded 2020 information from our bank onto an Excel spreadsheet to upload it to our Quicken ledger.
    A couple of points....
    What Release of Quicken....   Help --> About Quicken
    What bank are you downloading ?
    Why are you downloading QIF and using Excel - vs just Quicken downloads ?
    [EDIT] - also updated topic title to better reflect the actual Q&A

QWin - R54.16 - Win10

• UKR
    UKR SuperUser ✭✭✭✭✭

The Y2K bug still rears its ugly head