Corporate (stock) spinoffs - adjusted cost basis

Options
Note: i'm taking over my dad's quicken duties due to age so i am new at using quicken.

have read all of the posts concerning the Pfizer stock spinoff to Viatris but am still a little confused on how to handle this.

i've used the website

https://costbasistools.com/spinoff/calculator.php

to calculate the adjusted cost basis for his Pfizer stock as well as the new cost basis for the Viatris stock. the calculation was done for his total shares recognizing the fact that i need to do it separately for each of the lots he bought.

i'm running version R32.10 and from what i understand there use to be a Corporate Securities Spinoff action that is no longer in the software.

one other thing that might make this easier is that he does NOT reinvest any Pfizer dividends, they are simply deposited in a money market account.

so my question is what is the correct action to adjust the cost basis for the Pfizer stock as well as add the cost basis for the Viatris stock.

is "Removed - Shares Removed from Account" and "Added - Shares Added to Account" the correct actions to use? i didn't think Sold(x) and Bought(x) were appropriate since he did not really sell or buy any stocks. plus, i thought that doing this would mess up any reports (not sure which ones, if any, since i am new at this) that could be generated.

i saw in one of the posts that someone suggested "RtrnCap - Return of Capital" (or maybe it was "RtrnCapX - Return of Capital & Transfer" but i have no idea if this is appropriate or what this action is really used for.

so... how should i adjust the cost basis for the Pfizer stock as well as add the Viatris stock.

thanks!!

Best Answers

• Tom Young
    Tom Young SuperUser ✭✭✭✭✭
    edited April 2021 Answer ✓
    Options
    "'that suggests a Pfizer cost north of $200 per share.'