Budgeted Income not calculating correctly

I am new to budgeting, so I wanted to start out simple. Created a new file, set up a new checking account, and started a new budget for 2022. Added income of $1000 per month. Expected to see Savings of $12,000 in the top summary, with $0 Spending, but my Savings says $9,000. There are no expenses in 2022 or Reminder amounts; it is a new file. Can anyone explain why this would be happening?

Best Answers

• Frankx
    Frankx SuperUser ✭✭✭✭✭
    edited April 2021 Answer ✓
    @mhoppe11

Soooooo,  looks like you found an issue with the way that Quicken acts.  And it appears that my initial assumption, that it had to do with the current date, is correct. 

I tried to replicate what you had done - i.e. copy the 2021 over to 2022 using the 3rd option (Copy 2021 budget categories only to 2022) and it produced the same result - namely the 9,000 in "Savings" rather than 12,000.  So then I went to my system clock and manually changed the date to 1/1/2021 and this is what I saw:

So, apparently the issue is that Quicken uses the current date when it produces that graph and this causes it to incorrectly calculate the "Savings".  I clearly understand using the current date for that calculation in the current year budget, but to also use that same date to calculate "savings" in any projected year seems wrong to me.

Frankx

Quicken Home, Business & Rental Property - Windows 10-Home Version

- - - - Quicken User since 1984 - - - 
      -  If you find this reply helpful, please click "Helpful" (below), so others will know! Thank you.  -

• Quicken_Tyka
    Quicken_Tyka Alumni ✭✭✭✭
    Answer ✓
    Hello all,

I have a small update. An official ticket has been opened for this issue. I do not have an ETA for resolution, however, I will provide updates as more information becomes available.

Thank you for reporting this issue to the Community!

-Quicken Tyka

CTP-2046
    ~~~***~~~

Answers

• Frankx
    Frankx SuperUser ✭✭✭✭✭