What category should I use for business expenses?

I've been working with Quicken Home, Business & Rental for a few years, but I'm still making mistakes. I've been working on my income taxes. I ran both the tax summary and itemized deductions reports. I expected to see things there like what I paid for my side business website, domain registration, training courses and subscriptions, etc. Several different things. However, none of that is coming up.

I started looking into categories in Quicken. That's when I realized the mistake I've made. I've been using the category "Business Expense: Unreimbursed Business Expense" for all of these. Looking more into those I now realize that's for things like my taking a course for my day job, paying for it myself, then my employer not reimbursing me for that expense. Things like "Business Expense: Unreimbursed Business Expense" is wrong for my side gig. And looking more into the categories in Quicken I now see why they're not showing up in any of those reports. In my Quicken the subcategory "Unreimbursed Business Expense" is not marked as a tax related category on the Tax Reporting tab, in the Edit Category popup dialog. I should do that in case my employer doesn't reimburse me for a business expense I pay for, but for now I'm concerned about 2020 income taxes. I think it would be smarter for me to create a new category/subcategory, then go to each of those instances for 2020 where I wrongfully entered it as a "Business Expense: Unreimbursed Business Expense", then change it to the new subcategory.

But what to call this new subcategory? What's an appropriate designation for it? Then from with the Edit Category dialog (or whatever might show up when creating a new category/subcategory) how do I handle the Tax related category checkbox? There's two radio buttons there, one labeled, "Standard line item list" and the other is "Extended line item list"?
Tagged:

Best Answers

• NotACPA
    NotACPA SuperUser ✭✭✭✭✭