Automatic Backups recently not working, why?

David1812
David1812 Member ✭✭
I have been using quicken for windows since 1998 and have set preferences such that Quicken will do Automatic Backups and Manual Backups. The Automatic Backups have not run since 14 April 2021.
I have always had preferences selected for both Auto Backups and Manual Backups selected (check boxes for both are checked). Auto backup is set to run after running quicken for 1 time, with maximum # of backup copies set to 10. Manual Backup is set to remind me to run the backup after quicken is run 1 time.
Both of these backup files are set up to store the backups on my D drive (I don’t want data files filling up my C drive). I get a notice requesting me whether or not I want to backup my files each time I exit Quicken and I always do so. The Manual Backups work fine and are stored in the selected directory on the D driver.
Does anyone have a theory as to why my Auto Backups have stopped backing up automatically?
Tagged:

Best Answer

• UKR
    UKR SuperUser ✭✭✭✭✭
    Answer ✓
    And you are 100% sure that there isn't an error message during Backup, something like
    • "Backup file creation failed"
      In that case, run all steps in part (2) in this document in the order specified, even if you have done some of them before:
      Troubleshooting 101 - Fixing Software Installation and Data File Problems
      There's a problem with your live data file which needs to be fixed
    • or "Cannot open data file. File in use by other application"
      Something like Dropbox, MS OneDrive or another third party backup application has grabbed hold of the Quicken data file and now interferes with Quicken. Reconfigure this backup software to not access the live Quicken data file. Make it access the Manual Backup file instead, after it was created.

Answers

• jrich75
    jrich75 Member ✭✭✭✭