One of my credit card registers is decreasing balance when I make a purchase

I have one credit card (Capital One Signature Card) that I've been using and linked with Quicken since 2012 with no problem. Recently, the entire register from 2012 changed and every charge subtracts from the balance instead of adding to it, and every payment I make adds to the balance. Any ideas on how to fix this? I don't have the problem on any other credit card.
Tagged:

Answers

• Bami
    Bami Member ✭✭
    I solved the problem. I tried downloading my transactions several times, but finally I tried downloading one full year of transactions and when I did this the register reverted to calculating charges as expences.
  • volvogirl
    volvogirl SuperUser ✭✭✭✭✭
    Glad you found it.  Here's some more info....

First make sure you are sorted in Date order with the newest date at the bottom. If you are not then click the DATE Column heading to sort.

Sounds like you're running a credit balance. Is the balance in red or black? Look back through your transactions and maybe you'll spot one that was entered backward. Or a payment in the charge column or a charge in the payment column. Look around back where this first started happening.  Or maybe you are missing some charges? 

If the balance is in Black, it means you have a credit on the card.  Like if you overpaid the bill or got a refund for something you returned.   When you enter a charge it will reduce (decrease) the credit you have available on it.   And a payment will increase the balance.

Also make sure you have the right starting balance.  If it's zero you might need to add a beginning balance for when you started the account in Quicken.