Why does Quicken show a $215.14 unreconciled amount for my credit card statement?

Options
I have been reconciling credit card statements in Quicken for years. I have reconciled my current statement *three times now* and the result is the same. My 88 purchases are identical to the 88 purchases on the CC statement; my seven payments and credits are identical to the seven payments and credits on the CC statement, yet Quicken keeps showing a $215.14 discrepancy. Here is the message I get when I try to click Done on the reconcile screen: "The total of the items you have marked is $215.14 more than the total of the items shown on your bank statement." This is NOT TRUE! I don't want to insert an adjustment that will throw my Quicken account totally out of whack. What to do???

Best Answer

• Bill West
    Bill West Member ✭✭✭
    Answer ✓
    Options
    Mitz51,

I've been using Quicken for 20+ years and recently encountered similar reconcilitiation issues - they are related to accounts set up for online services. It's a new bug in Quicken that surfaces when one resets the account for online services. To reconcile to the online balance, Quicken changes the opening balance (which might go back years) of the account before looking at any new transactions that haven't been entered. I never encountered that in the past but I've learned to note the opening balance of an account before resetting for online services and changing it back. There is no indication during the reset process that Quicken is doing this. Hopefully, this might explain your problem.

Bill

Answers

• Tom Young
    Tom Young SuperUser ✭✭✭✭✭
    Options
    When you reconcile you reconcile from one balance to the other balance, it's not actually a reconciliation of "transactions."  That is you could delete those 88 transactions and enter one transaction of the correct dollar amount and do the same with the 7 "payment" transactions and, everything else being equal, you could reconcile just fine.