Cannot add new entries Cash account typed as "Asset" after conversion from 2017 deluxe to starter

Options
noexit23
noexit23 Member
I've been using Quicken for almost 10 years now and I upgraded from my CD install of 2017 Deluxe to "Starter" as the annual fee of almost $52 seemed high for me and all I do is track my checking and credit card accounts. However, I've discovered that I can no longer enter transactions into my 2 "Cash" accounts. These are accounts I manually created years ago to track my "cash" spending between my spouse and I. When I created these accounts I classified their types as "Asset". However, it seems now that I've "downgraded" I can no longer add transactions to these unless I upgrade to Premium.
After 2 HOURS on the phone with tech support, I've been told that there is no way to correct this. This is just a database program of sorts. Certainly there must be some way to re-tag these accounts as something else. Interestingly they are NOT "Investment" accounts. But the new software seems to track "Asset" Account types as "Investments".

I've tried uninstalling Quicken Starter and reinstalling my old 2017 Deluxe but alas I cannot change the account type there either.

Anyone have any suggestions?

Answers

• Sherlock
    Sherlock Member ✭✭✭✭
    Options
    I suggest you create new Cash accounts.  You may attempt to move the transactions (move, copy, export/import) and delete (or keep separate) the original accounts.  You may want to review: FAQ: How Do I Move Transactions Between Quicken Accounts?

• UKR
    UKR SuperUser ✭✭✭✭✭
    Options
    I'm not sure if you can do that with the rather restricted Starter Edition, but ...
    If you created these Cash accounts as "Type = Cash" or "Type = Checking", there always is the option of changing where in the Account Bar the accounts are being displayed. Go into Edit Account Details for these accounts, select the Display Options tab and change "Account Intent" from Asset to Spending.
  • noexit23