I am brand new to Quicken and to Bookkeeping

I am trying to do the bookkeeping and taxes myself.
I just downloaded the Quicken - Manage Your Home & Business software.
I figured out how to connect my banks / Credit Cards both personal and business.
Now I am a bit stuck on what to do next to get my info ready to send over to my TurboTax to process my taxes.
Any help and suggestions would be much appreciated....

Comments

• Greg_the_Geek
    Greg_the_Geek SuperUser ✭✭✭✭✭
    You don't send your information to TurboTax. TurboTax will import it from Quicken.
    Quicken Subscription HBRP - Windows 10
  • Chris_QPW
    Chris_QPW Member ✭✭✭✭
    Have you categorized all those transactions?
    Do you have the full year of transactions?
    Signature:
    This is my website: http://www.quicknperlwiz.com/
  • Ps56k2
    Ps56k2 SuperUser ✭✭✭✭✭
    RC_5280 said: I am trying to do the bookkeeping and taxes myself.
    well... there are several steps you need .... In general ....
    1 - The banks will only download about 90 days of transactions...
    how will you get a FULL YEAR of transactions to reflect your personal and business ?
    2 - Each transaction should be associated with a Quicken Category -
    either automatically or manually setup by YOU.
    These Categories then flow into various Tax Line Assignments - for your Quicken Reporting or other TTax input
    3 - You of course should then review the Quicken Tax Planner to see how things look.
    4 - Anything related to your business will be unique to you and has to be setup in Quicken to reflect this business -
    5 - You can later bring up TTax and ask it to "Import" data from your Quicken data file....
    Lastly - remember - Garbage in = Garbage out
    without proper and correct Category assigments, the transactions are either correct, wrong, or lost

QWin - R54.16 - Win10

• Chris_QPW
    Chris_QPW Member ✭✭✭✭