Date Range Scheduled Transactions

I am a teacher who gets paid 9 months a year. Is there a way to date range my income scheduled transactions? I can't delete the summer month transactions without deleting the entire scheduled transaction. I have the same problem with a mosquito treatment service I only get during the spring, summer, and fall (8 months).Thanks.

Best Answer

• waldof15e
    waldof15e Member
    Answer ✓
    RickO, thanks. I am currently skipping the summer months and that works fine but just creates a little extra work on my part when I am looking at future balances which is no big deal. The other thing I noticed is that I can put an end date to the scheduled transaction which would work but I would have to set it up again next year. For now, it looks like skipping is my best option. And I hope that I have to change the amount each year ;) . Appreciate the feedback.

Answers

• RickO
    RickO SuperUser, Mac Beta Beta
    Bottom line: no, there is no way to schedule monthly transactions for a year but exclude certain months. 

One option would be to create nine separate annually recurring transactions that occur only for the months you receive the pay. You could do this by repeatedly scheduling an existing transaction nine times, with the only difference being the annual month in which it occurs. It would be a real pain, though, if the amounts ever change since you'd have nine transactions to edit instead of one.

Another option is to just wait until the first non-pay month rolls around and then skip the scheduled transaction three times. For example, if you last paycheck is May, then after marking May as Paid, double click the instance that shows up for June and click Skip This Instance in the blue bar below the transaction. Repeat two more times for July and August. Note that you can only skip the next one due; you cannot skip any instances further out that you may see in the register.