How To Record These Investment Transactions?

Options
Austin@
Austin@ Mac Beta Beta
edited May 2022 in Investing (Mac)
What is the best way to record the following two transactions in my Fidelity NetBenefits 401(k) account? I'm new to investing and what all the terms and options in Quicken mean.

For the "Advisor / Consultant Fee" Fidelity downloaded a "Sell" transaction, but I don't think that's right because that resulted in a cash balance showing in Quicken and I don't have a cash balance...I'm thinking it should be set to "Remove Shares"?

Nothing downloaded for the "Realized Gain/Loss" transaction, so I'm not sure if I need to add anything (I'm honestly not sure what Realized Gain/Loss even means, so any insight there is appreciated as well).

Here are the details of my setup:
Quicken Version: Quicken Premier for Mac, Version 6.6.2
OS Version: macOS 12.3.1
Financial Institution: Fidelity NetBenefits
Account Type: Roth 401(k)
Connection Method: Direct Connect

Comments

• Jon
    Jon SuperUser, Mac Beta Beta
    edited April 2022
    Options
    It looks to me like they sold 0.349 shares of "AC RD 2055 TR I" (some sort of target date fund?) to generate cash to pay their advisor fee. You could use "Remove Shares" to remove the 0.349 shares without generating any cash, or you could add a second transaction showing the money being spent on the advisor fee, which would reduce the cash balance to zero.

The "Realized Gain/Loss" is probably due to them selling those shares for slightly less than what you initially paid. I don't know why you'd need a transaction for that, though.

Quicken Mac subscription. Quicken user since 1990.

• jacobs
    jacobs SuperUser, Mac Beta Beta
    Options