Why can't I see my sub-categories in the Category window

jriche1
jriche1 Member
I have a number of categories with subcategories that I have been using for many years. Recently I went to edit my sub-categories but I cannot find them in the Window view, yet they are all still there in my register. This problem has only been for the last major update I believe.

Best Answer

• jacobs
    jacobs SuperUser, Mac Beta Beta
    Answer ✓
    There is a problem with Categories which has affected a number of users which Quicken has yet to address. I'm not sure if you're experiencing the same thing, but it sounds similar enough that I would give this a try...

Make a backup of your Quicken data file before beginning. Quit Quicken

Open the Users > [your home account name] > Library > Preferences folder and scroll down to find com.quicken.Quicken.plist. (To access the User Library folder, in the Finder, hold down the Option key while you pull down the Go menu; Apple hides the Library folder otherwise.) Drag this .plist file to your desktop. Now relaunch Quicken.

You will likely have to point Quicken to your existing data file when it launches — don't let it create a new one — and then open your Categories window to see if everything is back to normal. 

I'm not sure all the settings and preferences are lost by replacing the prefs file, so you may find you need to reset some other things. (For instance, my Register Text & Row Settings was reset to the default row height instead of the Compact setting I normally use, and some of my Sidebar preferences were reverted to default settings.) I also had to answer a security question for one of my accounts; I'm not sure if that's related, but since this never happens otherwise, I assume it was.