Multi-Month Mortgage Repayment

Rick Milton
Rick Milton Member ✭✭✭
I've been using Quicken (for Windows) for over 15 or 20 years, but my son threw me a curve ball. I provided my son a mortgage for buying his home and he has been paying me back monthly. This month's check was for 3 months in advance and I have no idea how to book the transaction! The mortgage has been set up in quicken for at least 10 years and each month when he pays, it works just fine. I'm just stumped with this new issue.

Any ideas or help?

Thanks!

PS -- I think he did it just to get his father's accounting screwed up. LOL

Comments

• Frankx
    Frankx SuperUser ✭✭✭✭✭
    Hi @Rick Milton

So what your son actually did, was to make an additional payment of principal along with the normal monthly payment.  So, for simplicity's sake, I suggest that you first post one payment to reflect the normal reduction in principal and interest, per the amortization table.  And next post one payment (adding up whatever additional amounts he paid - not counting the regular mortgage payment) and enter that on the date paid as a reduction of principal only.  Quicken should then adjust the loan amortization going forward for the life of the loan (which will also be shortened somewhat).

Let me know if you have any followups.

Frankx

Quicken Home, Business & Rental Property - Windows 10-Home Version

- - - - Quicken User since 1984 - - - 
      -  If you find this reply helpful, please click "Helpful" (below), so others will know! Thank you.  -

• Mark1104
    Mark1104 Member ✭✭✭✭
    @RICK Melton - and that is exactly how a mortgage company would handle advance payments..they are principle paydowns.....

you may want to ask your son if he intends to pay the mortgage payment next month or did he think he was 'in the clear' for 3 months..... 

• Boatnmaniac
    Boatnmaniac SuperUser ✭✭✭✭✭
    edited December 2022 Answer ✓