Cash initial balance is wrong.

MarkKWilliams
MarkKWilliams Member ✭✭
A few days ago, cash began to show up with an initial value of $0.001518 instead of $1.00. I have tried to edit it, but can't figure out how. This throws off my gains over the years (I've been using Quicken for Windows since 2002). Help!

Answers

• Tom Young
    Tom Young SuperUser ✭✭✭✭✭
    "A few days ago, cash began to show up with an initial value of $0.001518 instead of $1.00. "
    I don't really understand what you're saying here.  Can you provide a screen shot that'll explain what you're experiencing?
  • MarkKWilliams
    MarkKWilliams Member ✭✭
    I pasted the image below. According to this, the initial value of each $1.00 was $0.001518. $1,000.00 would display an initial value of $1.518 and a current value of $1,000.00. Until this week, it displayed an initial AND current value of $1,000.00.
  • Tom Young
    From the little snippet you posted it looks like you created a Security called "Cash" and I've never heard of that.  Cash is not a security, it's a currency, the coin of the realm, a dollar is always worth a dollar (even if it doesn't buy as much as it used to) and it's value (quote) or cost never changes.  So I have to ask: why in the world would you create a security called "Cash" if you're really dealing with cash?
    As far as your oddball number goes, that's a calculated number - apparently you're showing a big gain in Cash - so I'd have to think some entry "upstream" of whenever this started is wrong, throwing that entry off.  You could try doing an Investment Transaction report, limiting it to the "security" Cash if something stands out to you.  It seems like every transaction, every Buy and every Sold, would have a number of shares that's equal to the "proceeds" or the "basis"  (price x # of shares) so I'd look for some entry where that's not the case.
  • MarkKWilliams
    MarkKWilliams Member ✭✭