Questions re installing QW2015 on Win10

Options
sfiloromo
sfiloromo Member ✭✭
I am currently running QW 2015 Premier on a Windows 7 Pro, 64 bit machine. There are no internet interfaces. All input is manual data entry. The data files include over 25 years of banking, credit card and investment transactions. Like many others, I now need to install and run QW2015 and other programs in a Win10 environment. To that end I have ordered a new Win10 Pro, 64 bit PC that has both a 256 Gb SSD drive and a 1Tb spinning HDD.

I am a computer novice as you shall soon learn, but I have studied the posts here and believe I should take the following steps to install QW2015 Premier on my new PC. PLEASE let me know whether y’all believe this will work or not.

1. From the old PC, copy the latest manual QDF Backup file to a USB thumb drive. Print the QW2015 Account List for later verification.

2. As the install is to a new PC, there should be no need to go through the horrendous Uninstall/Reinstall process to cleanse the PC of Quicken bits and pieces. As part of the overall migration, no program files will be moved to the new PC and data files copied to the new PC will not include any Quicken-related files.

3. Disable the internet connection to prevent QW2015 from searching for updates during install.

4. Install QW2015 Premier on the new PC from the original program CD, which I have. QUESTION: Should I install to the SSD, the HDD or to the Quicken default location, whatever that may be? Although SSD is preferable, I don’t really care about location as long as it works. I believe the QW2015 program and the QData file must be resident on the same drive. QUESTION: Are there any Win10 settings that may interfere with the install and should be changed?

5. Assuming it installs properly, do not start, instead uncheck the “launch now” box and close QW2015.