tedium re accepting transactions

pdxmaven
pdxmaven Quicken Windows Subscription Member ✭✭
First, thanks so much to those who have been helping me with these "newbie" questions. I am getting there, thanks to your advice, in downloading years of transactions over multiple accounts.
Re. accepting transactions: is there some reason to accept each transaction, one at a time? If so, I can't figure out what that reason might be? Is it maybe different because I am just beginning this project, for each of many accounts; and after I am caught up, then I might switch to "accept all" for all the news transactions?
Also, as I am accepting each transaction (doing it now one at a time until I hear otherwise from you), it is making me crazy for this reason: I have transactions going back to mid-2018. However, I am starting with 1/1/2019 to start categorizing, just for time reasons as I am trying to get 2019 done to facilitate doing my taxes. Each time I "accept" a transaction in 2019, say in April 2019, Quicken then "pops back" to say, December 2019. Each time. And then I have to use the mouse to go back to the next transaction I am dealing with in April 2019.
Very tedious and time consuming.
I had hoped I could "accept" 4 or 5 transactions at a time, but if there is a way to do that, I couldn't figure out what it was.
Maybe the problem is that I have these "unaccepted" transactions from 2018 "in front of" the 2019 ones which makes going back to my next transaction in 2019 more problematic?

Comments

• splasher
    splasher Quicken Windows Subscription SuperUser ✭✭✭✭✭
    I always accept them one at a time so that I see every transaction, but I am in a "caught up" state.
    If I was doing an initial build like you are, I would probably do an "Accept All" and then sort the register by Payee, select ranges of the transactions, right click on one of the highlighted transactions and select "Edit" to get to a find & replace pop-up to change the Category on the group.