How does Quicken handle Option Trades

Options
I am new to Quicken for Mac and I do some Option Trading. I am confused by the way Quicken seems to import and handle Option Transactions. Generally Options are traded as lots of 100 shares. So if I trade a Call relating to 100 shares it is reported a 1 unit and the price is the price per share and is displayed that way in my brokerage account. (I know this convention is confusing, but it is the practice.)

It appears that Quicken imports the transaction showing the number of shares not the number of lots.

I really need to get clear in my head what Quicken is doing because I have Calls in my account that were created while I was using Banktivity before converting to Quicken. Banktivity followed the way these transactions are reported.

In historical periods it appears that Quicken accepted the transactions at the values that the trades occurred at, however, in looking at my current portfolio, it is treating a Call that was imported as 1 share and therefore undervaluing those Calls at 1%.

So I think I need to go back to the imported entries and change the quantity from the number of lots to the number of shares impacted.

Am I interpreting this correctly

Answers

• Quicken_Tyka
    Quicken_Tyka Alumni ✭✭✭✭
    Options
    Hello @Daffy Duck

Thank you for taking the time to visit the Community to post your question, although I apologize that you haven't received a response.

There is an ongoing Idea thread here to add the capability to enter stock options in Quicken for Mac.

This Idea is currently being reviewed by the Development team to be considered for implementation. The Idea does have some discussion on the topic that may be of interest.

I hope this helps!

Thank you,
    -Quicken Tyka
    ~~~***~~~
  • Daffy Duck
    Daffy Duck Member ✭✭✭
    edited December 2020
    Options