Tracking Investments

Options
I've been using Quicken to track my finances for about 20 years, mostly focusing on bank and credit card accounts. [Currently using Quicken 2020 Deluxe for Windows.] Over time, due to lack of my paying attention to investment accounts, those accounts have become filled with garbage (old mutual funds I no longer own, etc). I want to start again, and carefully track investments in Quicken. However, I don't want to delete the old accounts because there are transactions in there (e.g., when I invested money from my checking account) that are transfers from the "accurate" bank accounts that I don't want to get scrambled.

So, trying to figure out the best way to do this. I have investment accounts that can both be downloaded (e.g., from Vanguard) and others that will need to be tracked manually. I'm thinking that I should proceed as follows:
1) Hide the existing investment accounts.
2) Set up entirely new investment accounts, and, where possible, set them up to download from e.g., Vanguard.

However, when I download from Vanguard, will it download all my historical info? I don't care if it doesn't track every past transaction, but it would be nice to have the detail for the cost basis of mutual funds that I currently own. I suppose I can enter this manually, but if there's a way to download, that would obviously be easier.

Also, when I run reports, am I going to have a problem with the "hidden" investment accounts being included? Do I somehow have to zero those accounts out, so it doesn't create a problem?

Or am I thinking about this completely incorrectly and there's a better way to proceed?
Tagged:

Answers

• Quicken_Tyka
    Quicken_Tyka Alumni ✭✭✭✭
    Options
    Hello @Fred9719

Thank you for taking the time to visit the Community to report this issue, although I apologize that you have not received a response.

The steps and process you have outlined, are sound are would work for what you have described that you need.