you for reaching out on the community and telling us about your issue. I do apologize for the issue you're having. To answer your questions I'll start off in order. 1. The idea behind deactivating and reactivating is to reset the connection as if it were new essentially. It'll reset the download and ideally fix any issues you may be actively having. 2. When you deactivate/reactivate you don't lose any data that is in the register.
If you do have any other questions please let me know!
It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!