Archiving Qdata file and starting fresh

jonaroberts
jonaroberts Member ✭✭
I have been using Quicken since about 2000, so my Qdata file, and backups, contain 21 years worth of transactions, long-ago closed accounts, etc. I would like to archive my current Qdata file, delete all transactions and closed accounts from my register, and start a new file with only my current, open accounts. I would want to have the archived file go through 12/31/2020, and the new file start 1/1/2021. Is there any way to do this???

Best Answers

• splasher
    splasher SuperUser ✭✭✭✭✭
    Answer ✓
    Your Quicken information is in a file, not the program.
    Just start a new file, File->New Quicken file.

-splasher using Q continuously since 1996
    - Subscription Quicken - Win11 and QW2013 - Win11
    -Questions? Check out the Quicken Windows FAQ list

• Chris_QPW
    Chris_QPW Member ✭✭✭✭
    Answer ✓
    splasher said:
    I take the problems lies in this part of the request " delete all transactions and closed accounts from my register".  As in leaving the open accounts untouched.

And I suspect there isn't any function in Quicken that is going directly satisfy the request.

Year end copy will not remove any investment data/accounts.  And Copy will not delete accounts even if they are empty.
    Signature:
    This is my website: http://www.quicknperlwiz.com/
  • Chris_QPW
    Chris_QPW Member ✭✭✭✭
    Answer ✓
    You can export your categories by selecting File > File Export > QIF file,. Select only the category list.

Repeat except using import on the new file.

when setting up a new file for download you can't control how far back it'll go but typical is about 90 days so you should probably be okay.

If it goes farther than that you can remove transactions and update the opening balance.

If you don't get enough transactions if the financial institution exports QFX Web connect files you can get them that way.
    Signature:
  • Ps56k2
    Ps56k2 SuperUser ✭✭✭✭✭
    Answer ✓