Automatically categorize past & future transactions

Options
Hi,

How can I automatically categorize all the past transactions and then make Quicken learn those rules to auto categorize all future transactions?

If the description of the transaction is AT&T then it is the internet bill but if the description is AT&T wireless + amount is $50 then it is the personal cellphone bill but if the description is AT&T wireless + amount is $75 then it is business cell phone bill.

I am a programmer, and this is a simple if-then statement job. Can't figure out how to get this done in Quicken.

Thanks
Tagged:

Comments

• Chris_QPW
    Chris_QPW Member ✭✭✭✭
    edited August 2021
    Options
    These are two separate operations. (past and future transactions).

To change the past transactions you use Find and Replace (Ctrl+H) or you have the following options on and change a transaction in the register and it will suggest changing the other transactions in the register with the same payee name.

This might be a simple if-then to you, but Quicken users aren't programmers, and as such that isn't how it is done.  Instead there are various options that handle this.

Starting out one might want some of the automatic options where Quicken guesses, and later when you have your memorized payee list built up turn them off.

General flow is renaming rule for the payee, which is used mostly to normalize the payee name to get rid of varying information (Change Safeway #2343 to just Safeway) and that will in turn match a memorized payee, and from that entry it will get the category it should use for that payee.

As for the future transactions there are several options that decide if and when such operations are to be done.

The Memorized Payee list itself: