How do I remove old accounts and keep only accounts I'm actively using?

Options
ksm
ksm Member ✭✭✭
I have been using Quicken since 2007. I have many old accounts (bank, investing, property & debt) that I no longer need or use. For example, I have old accounts for
  • Checking and savings accounts that were closed
  • Credit cards that were closed
  • Mortgages and Escrow that have been paid off (many years ago)
  • Investment accounts for employer 401(k)s where the account value was rolled over into IRA accounts (no investments were transferred)
  • Investment accounts where the investments were transferred into currently active investment accounts and the account closed
I'd like to have an active Quicken file with
  • Five years of activity in checking and savings accounts
  • Active investment accounts with all relevant transactions for currently held investments
  • Active Property accounts
  • Etc.
All guidance appreciated.

p.s. I have issues with my current file getting corrupt. Quicken Support suggested that I "start over." Looking for a way to do that without losing all my records.
Tagged:

Comments

• NotACPA
    NotACPA SuperUser ✭✭✭✭✭
    Options
    Were those account closed at the Financial Institution?  In Quicken?  Both?
    re: transactions prior to 5 years ago: Have you looked at FILE, Copy or Backup File, Create a Year-end Archive?

Q user since February, 1990. DOS Version 4
    Now running Quicken Windows Subscription, Business & Personal
    Retired "Certified Information Systems Auditor" & Bank Audit VP

• ksm
    ksm Member ✭✭✭
    Options
    The accounts are closed at the Financial Institutions and in Quicken. 

I've done year-end backups. The old files remain in Quicken.
  • Chris_QPW
    Chris_QPW Member ✭✭✭✭
    Options
    Year end copy doesn't touch investment transactions.  And year end copy will not remove transactions that haven't been reconciled on both sides of a transfer.