Quicken Slow and Freezing

Options
lrwheels
lrwheels Member ✭✭
I am using Quicken Premier for Windows versionr41.10, build: 27.1.41.10 using Windows 10 Enterprise.

I have been using Quicken for many, many years and my file is big. I am having SO many problems with it for the last several months. It is SO slow processing almost any transaction and it freezes VERY often. I have tried archiving anything before 1/1/18 and that did lower the file size by almost half. Still, if I try to run a verification on the file or a super verification, it freezes when it is verifying stock splits. I have downloaded transactions for my Vanguard account, but every time i try to accept one it freezes. The same thing happens with my Charles Schwab retirement account. I am having to download them from the bank site, as download in Quicken for any of my brokerage files no longer works. My memory with Quicken running is at less than 40% capacity. My data file is on the D: drive (not OneDrive, etc.). I have tried downloading Quicken multiple times. That doesn't help.

Bills in Bill Manager don't always update. Sometimes they do.

Certain of my Morgan Stanley transactions twice have disappeared, like ones from Dec. 2020 and January 2021, not recent ones.

Ugh!! Assuming it's a data corruption issue, but don't know how to fix. I've tried copying file and that created even more crazy problems, like vault of password setups disappeared.

Comments

• Quicken Anja
    Quicken Anja Moderator mod
    Options
    Hello @Irwheels,

Thank you for reaching out to the Community to tell us about your issue, though we apologize that you are experiencing this.

Since you mentioned that your data file is stored on D drive, please be advised that this is still considered an external drive. We recommend storing Quicken on the local C drive to avoid data file corruption issues as such issues can occur when storing data files on external drives (even if the external drive is not cloud-based).