I’ve been using the same desktop Quicken since 2010

Options
cwells3030
cwells3030 Member
edited July 2023 in Before you Buy

As the title says I’ve been using desktop Quicken 2010 since, well, 2010. I don’t like automatic links, I prefer to manually enter my transactions, bills, transfers, etc. I mostly use the planning tab for cash flow purposes and review the net worth tab to evaluate my performance over the years.

Since I don’t want automatic connections and am happy with my quicken 2010 application as it is, what benefit would there be to go to a newer version and have to pay a subscription?

The reason I ask is I got a new computer with no disc drive, my old computer was from 2013 and had a disc drive, so I’m either going to buy a standalone disk drive to load up my Quicken 2010 disc or I’ll have to go subscription. What specifically will I appreciate about a newer version?

If I do the subscription for one year and let it lapse after that will I be able to continue using the application or will I be locked out of my file?

Will I be able to import my 13 year old file if I upgrade? That is a tremendous amount of net worth and spending data that I am unwilling to lose.

Comments

• Jon
    Jon SuperUser, Mac Beta Beta
    Options

Going subscription isn't going to solve the problem of not having a disk drive, you're still going to need one for modern Quicken.

AS long as you get Quicken Deluxe or better, you can let your subscription lapse after a year & still use the program, but a significant part of the window will be taken up with a nag to renew.

• RickO
    RickO SuperUser, Mac Beta Beta
    Options

I think you are talking about an optical disk drive (e.g. CD/DVD-ROM drive). You would not need one for modern Quicken as it installs from a download from your quicken.com account.