Need to open QDF file from Swiss Tax authorities

Options
anandd
anandd Member
edited August 2023 in Before you Buy

Hello

I am a UK resident and I need to reclaim withholding tax from Swiss tax authorities. Unfortunately their forms are QDF extension files. I have looked up on the web and I understand I need Quicken to open these files. It seems a big waste to buy a software just to open a form. Any suggestions?

if there is no recourse but to have Quicken then what would be best / cheapest way to do this?

Thanks

Best Answers

• Jim_Harman
    Jim_Harman SuperUser ✭✭✭✭✭
    Answer ✓
    Options

Quicken is not currently sold in either the UK or Switzerland. I would be very surprised if the Swiss were using Quicken files.

Are you sure they are not Adobe PDF files?

QWin Premier subscription
  • anandd
    anandd Member
    Answer ✓
    Options

The issue is resolved. I could open QDF files with Snapform viewer.

Answers

• Jim_Harman
    Answer ✓
    Options

Quicken is not currently sold in either the UK or Switzerland. I would be very surprised if the Swiss were using Quicken files.

Are you sure they are not Adobe PDF files?

• anandd
    anandd Member
    Answer ✓
    Options

The issue is resolved. I could open QDF files with Snapform viewer.

• Boatnmaniac
    Boatnmaniac SuperUser ✭✭✭✭✭
    Options

There is more than one type of QDF file? I thought QDF files were only for use with Quicken financial software. What is this QDF file type that is a form file and can be used with Snapform?

(Quicken Classic Premier Subscription: R55.26 on Windows 11)

• Jim_Harman
    Options

The Snapform QDF (Quick Document Format) is apparently completely separate from Quicken's QDF (Quicken Data file)

https://www.w3-edge.com/wp-content/uploads/examples/snapform.com/markup/qdf-format.html

• Boatnmaniac
    Boatnmaniac SuperUser ✭✭✭✭✭
    edited July 2023
    Options