Account Balance Mismatch After Importing Historical Data

Options
janderson
janderson Member ✭✭

Firstly, I'm very new to Quicken and could just me using the program incorrectly. I've attempted searching for this issue already and couldn't find a related issue, it is entirely possible that I'm not searching for the correct issue, my apologizes for that.

I'm on Quicken for Windows Premier. I'm working to get all my accounts added. If I go through the Direct Connect method only, my balances are accurate. However, doing so, my bank (Huntington) only provides the last 90 days of transactions. So, in addition of the Direct Connect, I exported my accounts all the way back to August of 2021, and imported that into Quicken via a Web Connect file (.qfx). In doing so, I get all the transaction since August of 2021, great! What's not so great is that my Huntington account balances are inaccurate. Some showing a value higher and others showing a value lower than the actual balance.

Is there something I'm doing wrong here? Since the manual import there are a few transactions that aren't categorized, however, the sums of those transactions don't even come close to the difference of balance Quicken shows and what Huntington shows.

Any help would be appreciated! Like I said, I'm very new to Quicken, just bought it last week, so it is entirely possible that I'm doing something incorrectly.

Having the transactions from 2021 isn't a huge deal, it would just be nice to have that data in there for historical reporting and budgeting. If I can't come to a solution, I'll just revert back to the Direct Connect only method, and only have the last 90 days of transactions.

Thanks for your time!

Best Answers

• splasher
    splasher SuperUser ✭✭✭✭✭
    Answer ✓
    Options

Whether a transaction has a category or not does not change the ending balance.

I'm guessing that while doing the manual import, you probably got some duplicate transactions, so check for those.